2026 comparison

Best trading journal in 2026, compared

Seven trading journals side by side on price, free plan and MT4, MT5 and cTrader auto-sync. Every fact is checked on the vendor's own site and linked, so you can verify it.

Checked on 25 Oct 2026. Prices change, so confirm on each vendor's page.

7 journals comparedSources linkedUpdated October 2026

The best trading journal depends on what you need. For MT4, MT5 or cTrader auto-sync, TradeZella, Edgewonk, TradesViz and Dusk Analyst all offer it, from $19.99 to $35 a month. For a free journal, Dusk Analyst (unlimited trades, 2 accounts), Stonk Journal and TradesViz have free plans. We built Dusk Analyst, so check the table's sources yourself.

The Dusk Analyst dashboard: P&L balance chart, win rate, daily P&L and AI insights
4,000+trades journaled
33countries
365brokers & prop firms verified
$0to start, free forever

Any broker or prop firm on MT4, MT5, cTrader or NinjaTrader 8 syncs. Also imports TradingView, CSV and Excel and MT4 / MT5 reports. See all 365 brokers

Quick answers

What is the best trading journal in 2026?

There is no single best: it depends on your platform, budget and whether you want trades logged automatically. The table below compares 7 journals on price, free plan and MT4, MT5 and cTrader auto-sync, with a link to each vendor's own page.

Which trading journals auto-sync MT4, MT5 and cTrader?

TradeZella, Edgewonk, TradesViz and Dusk Analyst all list auto-sync for MT4, MT5 and cTrader on their own sites. Dusk Analyst syncs through a read-only EA, cBot or NinjaTrader add-on in your own terminal and never asks for your investor password.

Which trading journal has a free plan?

Dusk Analyst (unlimited trades, 2 accounts, manual entry and CSV import), Stonk Journal (manual entry only), TradesViz (stocks only, 3,000 executions a month) and Trademetria (30 orders a month). TradeZella and Edgewonk have no free plan.

What is the cheapest trading journal with MetaTrader auto-sync?

On their own pricing pages, TradesViz Pro is $19.99 a month ($14.99 billed yearly) and Dusk Analyst Pro is $25 a month. Dusk Analyst Pro is free for your first 5 trading days with no card, so you can test the sync before paying.

26 seconds

Watch a trade log itself.

A real MetaTrader terminal. Close the trade, open Dusk Analyst, and it’s already there: symbol, direction, entry, exit and P&L. Nothing to export, nothing to type, nothing forgotten.

Auto-sync (MT4, MT5, cTrader, NinjaTrader) is on Pro. The free plan imports your history files.

Get started, free

At a glance

Dusk Analyst at a glance.

Price
$0 or $25/monthFree forever. Pro is one flat price.
Free plan
2 accounts, no cardManual entry, file import, tags, calendars and weekly reports. No time limit.
Auto-sync
MT4 · MT5 · cTrader · NinjaTraderOn Pro. Your first 5 trading days are free, no card.
How sync works
EA, cBot or NinjaTrader add-onRuns in your own terminal and sends each closed trade.
Your password
Never asked forNothing logs into your broker account from our servers.
Brokers
365 checkedAny broker or prop firm on MT4, MT5, cTrader or NinjaTrader 8 works.
Setup
About 2 minutesPer account, once.
Where it runs
In your browserDesktop and phone. Nothing to install except the EA, cBot or NinjaTrader add-on.
AI
Dusk QuantAnswers questions about your own trades. Pro, 1,000 trade-analyses a month.

The comparison

7 trading journals, side by side

Cheapest paid plan, free plan and MetaTrader / cTrader auto-sync, as each vendor states it on its own site. "Not stated" means the vendor's page does not say.

JournalCheapest paid planFree planMT4 / MT5 / cTrader auto-syncTrial
Dusk Analyst$25/monthYes: unlimited trades, 2 accounts, manual entry and CSV importYes, all three plus NinjaTrader (Pro), via a read-only EA, cBot or add-onPro free for 5 trading days, no card
TradeZella$35/month ($26/month billed yearly)NoYes, all three (broker list)Not stated
Edgewonk$35/month or $197/yearNoYes, all three (import page)No trial; 14-day money-back guarantee
TradesViz$19.99/month ($14.99/month billed yearly)Yes: stocks only, 3,000 executions a month, 1 accountYes, all three (broker list)7 days
Tradervue$29.95/monthYes (limits not stated on the pricing page)Not stated for MT4, MT5 or cTraderYes; the card is charged when it ends
Stonk Journal$10/monthYes: unlimited trades and accounts, manual entry onlyNo (broker sync listed as on the roadmap)No trial needed, no card
Trademetria$19.95/month ($169/year)Yes: 30 orders a month, 1 accountNot statedNot stated

We built Dusk Analyst. Every competitor fact above was checked on the vendor's own page on 25 Oct 2026. TraderSync and Myfxbook blocked our checks, so they are not in the table; see their own pricing pages.

Picks by need

Which journal fits how you trade?

MT4, MT5, cTrader or NinjaTrader 8, no investor password

Dusk Analyst syncs each closed trade from a read-only EA, cBot or NinjaTrader add-on in your own terminal, so nothing logs in to your broker account. $25/month, first 5 trading days free with no card.

Lowest price with MetaTrader sync

TradesViz Pro lists MT4, MT5 and cTrader auto-sync at $19.99/month, or $14.99/month billed yearly.

A free journal you type into

Dusk Analyst Free (unlimited trades, 2 accounts, CSV import) or Stonk Journal (unlimited trades and accounts, manual entry only).

Most tiers and features

TradeZella runs three plans from $35 to $99/month, with a PropFirm Sync dashboard. Edgewonk is $197/year.

How we compared

What actually separates trading journals

Every journal records trades. What differs is how trades get in (typed, imported or synced), whether your platform is supported, what the free plan really covers, and what you pay once you need more than one account. We only list a fact when the vendor states it on its own site, and we link it.

How it works

Live in two minutes.

01

Create your account

Sign up and grab a per-account API key from the connectors panel.

02

Drop in the EA, cBot or add-on

One file into MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader or NinjaTrader 8. No extra software.

03

Trades sync themselves

Every close pushes into the vault automatically. Journal complete, always.

See it in action

Ask your trading data anything.

Your journal isn't a logbook, it's a dataset. The AI reads your actual trade history and answers the questions that move your edge.

  • Why do my losses cluster on Fridays?
  • Which strategy am I actually profitable in?
  • What happens when I break my 1% risk rule?
See patterns like this in your own trades

Auto-sync setup

How do I connect my platform?

Auto-sync (MT4, MT5, cTrader, NinjaTrader) is on Pro ($25/month), free for your first 5 trading days with no card. The Free plan imports your platform's history file.

Broker search

Does my broker work?

Each broker was checked against its own site in our 2026 audit. See all 365.

Pricing

Free is enough to build the habit. Pro is where it runs itself.

Start manual and free. Upgrade to MT4, MT5, cTrader or NinjaTrader auto-sync when you're ready to stop touching it.

Free

$0

A real journal, free from day one. $0 forever, up to 2 accounts, no credit card required, weekly reports included, and CSV import from any trading platform.

  • Up to 2 accounts
  • Manual entry + CSV import from any platform
  • Tags, calendars & core analytics
  • Weekly reports

No terminal connection. Upgrade to Pro when you want the vault to fill itself.

Start free

No setup fees. No card for Free, and no card for your first week of Pro: every new account gets Pro free for 5 trading days. After that it is $25/month. We email you before billing starts.

Compare it with your own trades.

Start free with unlimited trades. Auto-sync (MT4, MT5, cTrader, NinjaTrader) is free for your first 5 trading days, no card.

Get started, free

FAQ

The comparison, in plain answers.

What is the best trading journal for automatic sync?

If you trade on MT4, MT5 or cTrader, pick a journal that lists auto-sync for your platform on its own site: TradeZella, Edgewonk, TradesViz and Dusk Analyst all do. Dusk Analyst sends each closed trade from a read-only EA, cBot or NinjaTrader add-on in your own terminal, so it never needs your broker or investor password. Auto-sync (MT4, MT5, cTrader, NinjaTrader) is on Pro at $25/month, free for your first 5 trading days with no card.

Which trading journal has the best free tier?

It depends on how you trade. Dusk Analyst's Free plan has unlimited trades, 2 accounts, manual entry, CSV import, tags, calendars and weekly reports, with no card and no time limit, but no auto-sync (that is Pro: MT4, MT5, cTrader and NinjaTrader). Stonk Journal is free with unlimited trades and accounts but manual entry only. TradesViz's free plan covers stocks only, up to 3,000 executions a month.

Is a paid trading journal worth it over a spreadsheet?

A spreadsheet works while you trade one account and log every trade by hand. A journal earns its cost when you want trades captured automatically, stats like win rate by setup without formulas, or several accounts side by side. You can start free on Dusk Analyst and only pay for Pro if auto-sync saves you the time. See our journal vs spreadsheet guide.

Is Dusk Analyst really free?

Yes. The free tier costs $0 forever and includes two accounts, manual trade entry and CSV import - enough to journal a live account properly, with win rate, P&L and equity curve all calculated for you. There is no credit card required to start. Pro ($25/month flat) adds unlimited accounts, MT4/MT5/cTrader/NinjaTrader auto-sync, AI insights on your trading (1,000 trade-analyses a month), monthly reports and full export, and every new account gets Pro free for 5 trading days with no card. The pricing is deliberately simple: one plan, one price, no per-feature upsells.

Is there a free trial?

Yes, and it needs no card. Every new Dusk Analyst account gets Pro free for 5 trading days from sign-up: auto-sync from MT4, MT5, cTrader and NinjaTrader 8, AI Insights with 1,000 credits, monthly reports and unlimited accounts. After that Pro is $25/month, and you can cancel anytime from Billing in the app. If you skip it, the account moves to Free with every trade kept.

Can I import my existing trade history?

Yes - CSV import is available on every plan, including free. If you've been tracking trades in a spreadsheet, broker export or another journal, export the CSV from wherever it lives and import it into Dusk Analyst; the journal matches it against your accounts and keeps your history continuous. Import is also the fallback for platforms that don't run MT4, MT5, cTrader or NinjaTrader 8. For MT4/MT5/cTrader/NinjaTrader terminals, Pro auto-syncs going forward and the EA backfills any trades your terminal missed while it was off. Any platform that exports a CSV of your trade history works. Dusk Analyst recognises TradingView, Tradovate, cTrader, MT4 and MT5 exports on sight; for anything else you map your columns once and that parser is saved for next time. Comma, semicolon and tab files are all handled, day-first and month-first dates are detected from the file itself, and any row that cannot be read is listed for you rather than dropped quietly.

How many AI credits do I get with Dusk Analyst Pro?

Pro includes 1,000 AI trade-analyses every month. One credit covers one trade, so asking a question about a 40-trade week costs 40 credits and you can keep asking. The allowance resets on the 1st of each month and the counter sits in the top bar of the app, so you always know where you stand. Narrowing a question to one account or a shorter date range makes the same allowance go much further. Free accounts get a small number of AI credits to try AI Insights, alongside the full journal, analytics and weekly reports, and the free Pro week (5 trading days, no card) includes the full monthly allowance.

Guides

Find the setup for how you trade.

Calculators10
Platforms17
Prop firms5
Markets5
Crypto exchanges7
Compare13
Templates & guides21